Blu-ray Releases Details
Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance

List Price 34.98
Go To Store
In Stock
  • Note To Viewer

    This disc has not yet been reviewed. The following information has been provided by the distributor.

Genres: Documentary
Starring: Alanis Obomsawin, Ethel Blondin, Robert Bourassa, John Ciaccia, Ellen Gabriel, Elijah Harper, Ovide Mercredi, Frank Natawe, Bill Traverse
Director: Alanis Obomsawin
Plot Synopsis:

30th anniversary special edition

In July 1990, a dispute over a proposed golf course to be built on Kanien’kéhaka (Mohawk) lands in Oka, Quebec set the stage for a historic confrontation that would grab international headlines and sear itself into the Canadian consciousness. Pathbreaking filmmaker Alanis Obomsawin – at times with a small crew, at times alone – spent 78 days behind Kanien’kéhaka lines filming the armed standoff between protesters, the Quebec police, and the Canadian army. The result is a uniquely harrowing, unsettling, and impactful cinematic experience.

One of the most important Canadian films of all time, this landmark documentary has been seen around the world, winning over a dozen international awards and making history at the Toronto International Film Festival, where it became the first documentary ever to win the Best Canadian Feature award. In addition to Kanehsatake: 270 Years of Resistance, this disc includes the three subsequent films in Obomsawin’s acclaimed Oka Crisis quartet – My Name Is Kahentiiosta, Spudwrench: Kahnawake Man, and the feature-length Rocks at Whiskey Trench – expanding on key incidents, characters, and themes from the original film.

directed by: Alanis Obomsawin
starring: Alanis Obomsawin, Ethel Blondin, Robert Bourassa, John Ciaccia, Ellen Gabriel, Elijah Harper, Ovide Mercredi, Frank Natawe, Bill Traverse
1993 / 118 min (combined) / 1.33:1 / English DTS-HD MA 1.0


Additional info:

  • Region A Blu-ray
  • Scanned and restored in 2K from the 16mm interpositive
  • Commentary featuring director Alanis Obomsawin and professor Monika Kin Gagnon
  • My Name Is Kahentiiosta (1995, 30 min.)
  • Spudwrench: Kahnawake Man (1997, 58 min.)
  • Rocks at Whiskey Trench (2000, 106 min.)
  • Booklet featuring writing on Obomsawin’s Oka Crisis series by Faye Ginsburg, Audra Simpson, and Robert Verrall
  • Reversible cover artwork
  • English SDH subtitles for all four films
  • Release Details
    Release Date: February 28th, 2023
    Movie Release Year: 1993
    Release Country: United States
    Movie Studio: Canadian International Pictures
  • Technical Specs
    Length:118 Minutes
    Specs:Blu-ray Disc
    Video Resolution/Codec:1080p AVC/MPEG-4
    Aspect Ratio(s):1.33:1
    Audio Formats:English: DTS-HD MA 1.0
    Subtitles/Captions:English SDH
Tomorrow's latest releases

Amazon Best Sellers & Deals

Trending deals on today's releases.