Blu-ray Releases Details
The Douglas Sirk Collection II (The Girl from the Marsh Croft / The Final Chord)

Sale Price 17.98
List Price 29.95(40% OFF)
Go To Store
3rd Party 14.99
In Stock
  • Note To Viewer

    This disc has not yet been reviewed. The following information has been provided by the distributor.

Genres: Drama
Starring: Hansi Knoteck, Kurt Fischer-Fehling, Willy Birgel, Lil Dagover, Maria von Tasnady
Director: Douglas Sirk
Plot Synopsis:

Douglas Sirk is commonly credited with transforming the American melodrama into high art. What less commonly known is that, prior to fleeing Germany in the 1930s, he was already exploring the boundaries of the genre, and refining the sophisticated visual style and emotional complexity that would become his trademarks in the 1950s.

The Girl from the Marsh Croft is an adaptation of Selma Lagerlöf’s popular novel, a tale of shame and superstition set in an insular farming community in the northern region of Germany. Hansi Knoteck stars as a moral outcast who is willing to sacrifice her own happiness for the sake of the man she loves (Kurt Fischer-Fehling).

Female self-sacrificeis also the theme of The Final Chord, a lavish drama set in the classical concert halls of Germany. Maria von Tasnady is a woman who gives up her child for adoption, only to become its nursemaid years later. But even that tenuous happiness is threatened by the influence of a domineering nanny (Lil Dagover).

  • Release Details
    Release Date: February 22nd, 2022
    Movie Release Year: 1936
    Release Country: United States
    Movie Studio: Kino Lorber
  • Technical Specs
    Length:181 Minutes
    Specs:Blu-ray Disc
    Video Resolution/Codec:1080p AVC/MPEG-4
    Aspect Ratio(s):1.19:1, 1.20:1
    Audio Formats:German: DTS-HD MA 2.0 Mono
    Special Features:
    • Audio commentary for The Girl from the Marsh Croft by film historian Olaf Möller
    • Audio commentary for The Final Chord by film historian Anthony Slide
Tomorrow's latest releases

Amazon Best Sellers & Deals

Trending deals on today's releases.